Reference Case: CSA funding by H2020

Reference Case: CSA funding by H2020
Reference Case: CSA funding by H2020
EU funding for European Broadcasting Union (EBU)

MediaRoad - European Media Ecosystem for Innovation

Project description

Coordinated by the European Broadcasting Union, the MediaRoad project aims to support the transformation of the European media sector by building an ecosystem for innovation involving diverse media associations, public service media organisations, commercial radios and broadcasters, media workers’ organisations, academic research institutes and innovation centers, independent producers and SMEs.


  • Boost innovation across the European media sector
  • Reawaken a “start-up” mentality in the media sector
  • Bring together a broad network of media stakeholders
  • Bring innovative concepts to fruition and market deployment
  • Shape future media policy and be part of the digital transformation

One of the key priorities of the project is to build a diverse Network where European media organisations, researchers, creative and cultural industries, technology experts and entrepreneurs join forces to create their vision for the future together.

During the project the team aims to provide the European Commission with regular proposals and suggestions to feed into key EU policies like the future framework for research and media innovation and develop a long-term policy vision for the European media sector focusing on audiovisual and radio.


AISBL EBU-UER – European Broadcasting Union (EBU) 
Association of European Radios (AER)
British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC) – Research & Development Department
Institut für Rundfunktechnik GmbH (IRT)
Rai – Radiotelevisione Italiana (RAI)
Interuniversitair Micro-Electronicacentrum IMEC vzw (IMEC)
École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL) – Media Center
European Coordination of Independent TV Producers (CEPI)
Vlaamse Radio- en Televisieomroep (VRT)

Key Figures

  • The total budget is 994 188 €
  • The grant is 994 188 €
  • The schedule is 2017 – 2019


Mediaroad project site